Return to VNFAWING.com Website Return to Main Forum Index PageReturn to VNFAWING.com Website
:: Forum Index :: Zephyrnet Forums :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Groups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
I need feedback on what joystick you use for FA flight...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VNFAWING.com Forum Index -> FAF General Support Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CAG Hotshot

Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster
 

Rank: Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster

Joined: 12 Aug 2004

Posts: 16079

Post subject: I need feedback on what joystick you use for FA flight... Reply with quote
Hey guys and gals. I need feedback on what joystick you use for FA flight and what selection you use for that joystick in the dropdown ingame menu when you set it up...

Example: I use the Saitek X45 but I run it under the CH F-16 Flight Stick selection.

I am asking because I am going to modify these choices to better represent what people are using today to fly FA so the drop down menu has more revelent options.

So PLEASE respond to this message and let me know what you use and what selection you run it under...

Thanks!

CAG out...
_________________
CAG Hotshot
"FAF Shape Meister"
Forum Administrator
FAF/FA-2 Design team
TSH Member/Developer

-------- __@
----- _`\<,_
---- (*)/ (*)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



PostWed Jan 28 15:15:31 2009
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Snake

Researcher/Moderator
 

Rank: Researcher/Moderator

Joined: 31 Aug 2007

Posts: 173

Post subject: Reply with quote
Logitech Extreme 3d Pro, and I usually just use it under the normal joystick option. I have the Logitech game-launch software that has presets loaded, so I basically just launch into the game from that program.
_________________
FAF Beta Tester
FAF Theater Researcher
----------------------------
PostWed Jan 28 15:43:18 2009
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Zephyr

Developer
 

Rank: Developer

Joined: 17 Aug 2004

Posts: 6

Post subject: Reply with quote
Logitech Wingman Exteme Digital; I can't get FA commands to show up in the Logitech mapping software in Vista 64. Sad

And I would like to add that I wish Vista retained gameport support. I have a CH Jane's Combat Stick relegated to my slow XP machine. Mad
PostWed Jan 28 20:42:38 2009
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
CAG Hotshot

Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster
 

Rank: Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster

Joined: 12 Aug 2004

Posts: 16079

Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank for the prompt relies. I received some emails back as well and will post them in this string...

As I stated in my email...

I use a Saitek X45 and run it under the CH F-16 Fight Stick and it accepts the Saitek stick profile with no issues...

I will be altering the menu to reflect this and replace the CH F-16 Flight (not combat) Stick with Saitek X45/X52 Stick..

The catchall joystick option will be retained, so no worries there...

What I am looking for from others is what other sticks do they use and under what listed segment of the menu. So I can alter other selections to best match the sticks still in use...
_________________
CAG Hotshot
"FAF Shape Meister"
Forum Administrator
FAF/FA-2 Design team
TSH Member/Developer

-------- __@
----- _`\<,_
---- (*)/ (*)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



PostWed Jan 28 21:01:19 2009
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jackal

FAF Beta Tester
 

Rank: FAF Beta Tester

Joined: 16 Aug 2004

Posts: 2407

Post subject: Reply with quote
CAG,

I have an update to what I've responded by email: my Saitek Aviator is working better with the default profile than with that CH F16 I've told you before, because with that first I can use the Saitek rudder maneuvring capability instead of the keyboard.

I've noticed it only yesterday, sorry.
_________________

FAF / FA-2 Beta Tester
--------------------------
Nassiryja. We won't forget!
"Nei secoli fedele"
("In the ages Faithful", Italian Arma dei Carabinieri's motto)
PostThu Feb 5 6:41:34 2009
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Eagle114th

FAF Beta Tester
 

Rank: FAF Beta Tester

Joined: 16 Aug 2004

Posts: 379

Post subject: Reply with quote
I have been using X-52 joystick for 3 years now and Im loving it. But IMO, the best joystick itself I ever used was Janes combat stick (CH products) during 1990s. However, I have gotten used to X-52 joystick for these years now.

The only complaint is that I still havent' figured out how to make throttle work in Janes FA, unless any of you got tips for me on how ot use satiek joystick programming to program throttle in FA.

But to answer CAG, I have been using X-52 joystick to fly Janes FA.


Eagle out...
_________________
FAF / FA-2 Beta Tester
--------------------------
Great pilots are made not born... A man may possess good eyesight,
sensitive hands, and perfect coordination, but the end product is only
fashioned by steady coaching, much practice, and experience.

Air Vice-Marshall J.E. "Johnnie" Johnson, RAF

PostThu Feb 5 18:24:15 2009
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
CAG Hotshot

Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster
 

Rank: Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster

Joined: 12 Aug 2004

Posts: 16079

Post subject: Reply with quote
Eagle114th wrote:
I have been using X-52 joystick for 3 years now and Im loving it. But IMO, the best joystick itself I ever used was Janes combat stick (CH products) during 1990s. However, I have gotten used to X-52 joystick for these years now.

The only complaint is that I still havent' figured out how to make throttle work in Janes FA, unless any of you got tips for me on how ot use satiek joystick programming to program throttle in FA.

But to answer CAG, I have been using X-52 joystick to fly Janes FA.


Eagle out...


Have you installed al lthe software that came with your X52? Also do you have the throttle set on the popdown inflight menu? Also what profile are you using for FA flight with your X52?
_________________
CAG Hotshot
"FAF Shape Meister"
Forum Administrator
FAF/FA-2 Design team
TSH Member/Developer

-------- __@
----- _`\<,_
---- (*)/ (*)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



PostThu Feb 5 23:55:14 2009
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Eagle114th

FAF Beta Tester
 

Rank: FAF Beta Tester

Joined: 16 Aug 2004

Posts: 379

Post subject: Reply with quote
CAG Hotshot wrote:
Eagle114th wrote:
I have been using X-52 joystick for 3 years now and Im loving it. But IMO, the best joystick itself I ever used was Janes combat stick (CH products) during 1990s. However, I have gotten used to X-52 joystick for these years now.

The only complaint is that I still havent' figured out how to make throttle work in Janes FA, unless any of you got tips for me on how ot use satiek joystick programming to program throttle in FA.

But to answer CAG, I have been using X-52 joystick to fly Janes FA.


Eagle out...


Have you installed al lthe software that came with your X52? Also do you have the throttle set on the popdown inflight menu? Also what profile are you using for FA flight with your X52?


Yes I have installed Satiek profile editor and in fact, today I am updating the old software with new one after years of not updating it. I think I may have a theory of how ot enable working throttle. It s about setting 'bands' in axis. (I just discovered this after setting up an additional programming axis propeller pitch and mixture for IL-2 1946 with add-on aircraft mods.) If I set these into 3 seperate bands, and I would add + (repeat) for increasing throttle. Same thing for decreasing throttle.


Eagle out...
_________________
FAF / FA-2 Beta Tester
--------------------------
Great pilots are made not born... A man may possess good eyesight,
sensitive hands, and perfect coordination, but the end product is only
fashioned by steady coaching, much practice, and experience.

Air Vice-Marshall J.E. "Johnnie" Johnson, RAF

PostFri Feb 6 14:04:53 2009
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
CAG Hotshot

Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster
 

Rank: Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster

Joined: 12 Aug 2004

Posts: 16079

Post subject: Reply with quote
I have no idea what you are talking about... If you have your throttle plugged into your stick and then select to use a throttle instead of a keyboard in the popdown menu of FA it will work.

Have you calibrated your stick in windows XP yet?
_________________
CAG Hotshot
"FAF Shape Meister"
Forum Administrator
FAF/FA-2 Design team
TSH Member/Developer

-------- __@
----- _`\<,_
---- (*)/ (*)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~





Last edited by CAG Hotshot on Sat Feb 7 1:10:28 2009; edited 1 time in total
PostFri Feb 6 15:14:31 2009
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Eagle114th

FAF Beta Tester
 

Rank: FAF Beta Tester

Joined: 16 Aug 2004

Posts: 379

Post subject: Reply with quote
CAG Hotshot wrote:
I have no idea what you are talking about... If you have your throttle pluggeind into your stick and then select to use a throttle instead of a keyboard in the popdown menu of FA it will work.

Have you calibrated your stick in windows XP yet?


I have tried it in FA, it wont recgonize my throttle pad that are connected to my computer via USB. And secondly, yes I have configured my X-52 joystick through control panel. Since throttle wont work in FA, I will have to find an alternative way around the problem.


Eagle out...
_________________
FAF / FA-2 Beta Tester
--------------------------
Great pilots are made not born... A man may possess good eyesight,
sensitive hands, and perfect coordination, but the end product is only
fashioned by steady coaching, much practice, and experience.

Air Vice-Marshall J.E. "Johnnie" Johnson, RAF

PostFri Feb 6 16:38:07 2009
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
CAG Hotshot

Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster
 

Rank: Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster

Joined: 12 Aug 2004

Posts: 16079

Post subject: Reply with quote
What setting are you selecting on the popdown joystick menu in FA?

Take some screenshots of all your selections for stick and throttle and either email them to me or post them to the web and provide links.
_________________
CAG Hotshot
"FAF Shape Meister"
Forum Administrator
FAF/FA-2 Design team
TSH Member/Developer

-------- __@
----- _`\<,_
---- (*)/ (*)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



PostSat Feb 7 1:11:52 2009
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VNFAWING.com Forum Index -> FAF General Support Forum All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics
You cannot reply to topics
You cannot edit your posts
You cannot delete your posts
You cannot vote in polls




VNFAWING Flight Sim Development Center,Inc. - VNFAWING.comô

Powered by phpBB © 2001 - phpBB Group